Android 10, FAWs, hearing aids, CIs & app questions

Hi, I am very interested in getting one of these Android 10 watches. I have a few questions to ensure they are right for me.

I have a Resound hearing aid on my left side and a Cochlear implant with a Nucleus 7 sound processor. On my iPhone and my OnePlus phone I can pair them. On the OnePlus running Android 10 I do this under Settings, System, Accessibility, Hearing Aids.

This is different from pairing a bluetooth headset under the bluetooth settings. Only a few hearing aids, and only two CI sound processors (that I’m aware of) can pair in this way. It allows sound to stream to the hearing devices without the need for an intermediate bluetooth device that pairs as a headset.

Other than that there are a few apps I’d like to ensure are available. One is PagerDuty, since I am in an on-call rotation for work. The others are Discord, Slack, Zoom, and Fastmail.

Lastly, I work in the tech field, like many of you I am sure. I don’t need root access to the phone, but I really want terminal access with my user account. It might sound weird because why would you use a command line on your watch, but I would be writing command line scripts (mostly shell and awk with curl and jq) and programs on a computer and transferring them to the watch to run.

Thanks in advance to any and all who can provide some insight. I have been looking at the kospet optimus 2, lokmat applmp 4, and thor 6 (although I think the thor is missing google cal?). All of these are around $180 right now. If I could jump in for a bit less I’d go ahead with it and update here with my findings.

1 Like

I see from forum searches that Slack and Discord are installable. From what I gather most Play Store apps are installable but might be unusable due to the UI.