So, I was asked to create watch faces for a fee,

So, I was asked to create watch faces for a fee, and was wondering if we are allowed to do that? Can we get paid for our work, like $2 per face for example? Just wondering.

I think there’s nothing wrong earning some money with your own creations. As soon that you are using someone else’s artwork you need to have his/her permission. In watchfaces this can be difficult because parts of the designs are often created by different people. Even using and publishing these parts should have you credit them. Selling their graphics is out of the question without permission.
I’m a photographer, and I’ve had several occurances of people, newspapers and websites publishing my work without knowledge and permission. If the publication was commercial, they all received a hefty bill. Lucky for me they all paid.

As an addition. Copying a commercial desing like I.g. a Tag Heuer and askubg money for that could get you into serious copyright issues.
That’s why these warchfaces are often called a hommage to the brand and only a donation is asked and not a fee.

@Kenneth_Tan so if you photoshop or alter a picture (as i did for the carrera’s i posted)and then complete it with markers etc… you can be hit with copyright issues? Isnt there a window where if you change a picture slightly you are clear from copyright infringement because it is not the same anymore…? As far as the donation goes, its a good idea but I don’t see many people being courteous when they can get something working for free. this also goes back to the discussion you and I had a little while ago about Zooper Pro, free and paid apps

The link below relates to the UK but covers some generally accepted issue…
https://www.copyrightservice.co.uk/copyright/copyright_myths

@Andrew_Davis ​​ E​verything covered in that link. And most of it is applicable world wide.